Up to 10 teams could participate in IPL from 2022


    Teams participating in the Indian Premier League could increase to up to 10 from the 2022 tournament.

    This is according to a report from ESPNcricinfo which states that the BCCI’s state boards have voted to ratify the decision.

    For the upcoming 2021 edition, the tournament will remain with eight teams.

    However, from 2022, there could be nine or 10 participating teams and the IPL governing council will finalize preparations for the addition of the new teams.

    Cricinfo states that, as there’s now a cap of one franchise per state, the new franchise will have to come from a state where no existing franchise has a home base.

    This leaves other international match venues like Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Visakhapatnam, Kochi/Thiruvananthapuram and Lucknow as favourites to host the new franchises.