T&T’s Da Silva and Hosein get first West Indies international retainer contracts

    Joshua de Silva against Sri Lanka in March 2021. (Photo by Randy Brooks/AFP)

    T&T’s Joshua Da Silva and Akeal Hosein have been awarded their first West Indies international retainer contracts, while Darren Bravo has received a white ball contract.

    According to Lead Selector, Roger Harper, 18 players have been retained for 2021-22 – a decrease of four from last year.

    Jason Holder is the only player to retain his all-format contract due to “strong Test and T20I performances during the evaluation period.”


    All-Format Contract: Jason Holder.

    Red Ball Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner*, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva*, Shannon Gabriel, Kyle Mayers* and Kemar Roach.

    White Ball Contracts: Kieron Pollard, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein*, Evin Lewis, Alzarri Joseph, Nicholas Pooran and Hayden Walsh Jr. (*Players offered contracts for the first time)

    Players who are no longer receiving international retainer contracts are:

    All Format Contract: Roston Chase.

    Red Ball Contracts: Shamarh Brooks and Shane Dowrich.

    White Ball Contracts: Sunil Ambris, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd and Oshane Thomas.

    CWI says all players who are no longer on international retainer contracts are offered an A* grade Regional Franchise Contract for the following year.