Pooran’s Gladiators win Abu Dhabi T10; named player of tournament

    (Photo credit: Abu Dhabi T10 on Instagram)

    Nicholas Pooran was named Player of the Tournament as his Deccan Gladiators won the Abu Dhabi T10.

    Pooran and company came up against Kieron Pollard’s New York Strikers yesterday and set them 129 to chase.

    Pooran struck 40 from 23 balls while David Wiese made 43 from 18 while Akeal Hosein took two wickets and Pollard grabbed one.

    In reply, the Strikers were restricted to 91/5 with Pollard top scoring with 23 from 15 and Josh Little taking two wickets for four runs in two overs.

    Player of the Series Pooran scored 345 runs in 10 innings at a strike rate of 234.69 and struck three 50s.

    Fellow Trinbagonian Akeal Hosein was the fourth best wicket taker in the tournament with 10 wickets at an average of 9.3 and an economy rate of 6.2.