Pollard lifts 2nd T20 title in two months as Mumbai win IPL

    Kieron Pollard during the IPL (Photo credit: Deepak Malik/Sportzpics for BCCI)
    Kieron Pollard led TKR to the CPL title two months ago (Photo credit: Randy Brooks – CPL T20/CPL T20 via Getty Images)

    Kieron Pollard has picked up his 2nd major T20 title in exactly two months, as the Mumbai Indians have won the 2020 IPL.

    On September 10th, Pollard led the Trinbago Knight Riders to the CPL trophy and today, November 10th, he has won the IPL under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

    The Delhi Capitals, batting first in today’s final, made 156/7 on the back of 65 from Shreyas Iyer and 56 from Rishabh Pant.

    Pollard bowled one over for 13 runs.

    In reply, Mumbai got home with five wickets and eight balls to spare despite two late wickets.

    Pollard made just 9 runs but a composed 68 from skipper Sharma was enough to keep the ship steady and on course for the win.

    This is Mumbai’s fifth IPL title – they also won in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 with Pollard involved each time.

    Following today’s win, the West Indian had a message to send to his Trinbagonian colleague Dwayne Bravo, who is attached to Chennai Super Kings.