Jason Mohammed to captain West Indies ODI team on Bangladesh tour

    Jason Mohammed (Photo credit: CWI Media/Randy Brooks of Brooks LaTouche Photo)

    T&T’s Jason Mohammed will captain the West Indies ODI squad in Bangladesh as several players have opted out of the tour due to COVID-19 related or personal concerns.

    Cricket West Indies today announced the Test and ODI squads for the series and noted that the following players have declined the tour: Jason Holder, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran.

    Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich are unavailable due to personal reasons.

    These decisions have led to maiden call ups for several players.

    T&T’s Akeal Hosein and Kjorn Ottley have been named in the ODI team skippered by Mohammed, while Kavem Hodge, Shayne Moseley and Kyle Mayers are on the Test squad to be led by Kraigg Brathwaite.


    TEST: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Kavem Hodge, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Shayne Moseley, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Raymon Reifer, Jomel Warrican.

    ODI: Jason Mohammed (captain), Sunil Ambris (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Andre McCarthy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.


    • January 10: West Indies arrival in Bangladesh
    • January 18: One-day warm-up match, Savar
    • January 20: 1st ODI, Dhaka
    • January 22: 2nd ODI, Dhaka
    • January 25: 3rd ODI, Chattogram
    • January 28-31: Four-day warm-up, Chattogram
    • February 3-7: 1st Test Match, Chattogram
    • February 11-15: 2nd Test Match, Dhaka