ICC launches World Test Championship; West Indies to play 6 Test series

    File photo (Photo credit: Randy Brooks/Brooks LaTouche Photography)

    Nine Test teams will face off across 27 series over the next two years in the inaugural ICC World Test Championship.

    The top nine ranked teams as on March 31st 2018 qualified – they are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

    The tournament runs until June 2021 when, after 71 matches, the top two teams will face off in the final in the UK.

    The West Indies will play 6 series:

    • WI v India (2019)
    • WI vs South Africa (2020)
    • New Zealand vs WI (2020)
    • England vs WI (2020)
    • Bangladesh vs WI (2021)
    • WI vs Sri Lanka (2021)

    Each series counts for 120 points.