Hope nominated for Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

    (File photo by Randy Brooks/AFP via Getty Images)

    West Indies wicketkeeper/batsman Shai Hope has been nominated for the ICC’s Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award for 2022.

    Hope is vying for the prize alongside Pakistan’s Babar Azam, Australia’s Adam Zampa and Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza.

    The ICC says Hope was one of the few shining stars for West Indies in an otherwise tough year.

    In 2022, he scored 709 runs in 21 matches at an average of 35.45 and notched three hundreds and two fifties.

    Meanwhile, Raza is also in the running for Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year alongside India’s Suryakumar Yadav, England’s Sam Curran and Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan.

    South Africa’s Marco Jansen, Afghanistan’s Ibrahim Zadran, New Zealand’s Finn Allen and India’s Arshdeep Singh are nominees for Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

    For the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, the nominees are South Africa’s Shabnim Ismail, New Zealand’s Amelia Kerr, England’s Nat Sciver and Australia’s Alyssa Healy.

    Vying for Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year are India’s Smriti Mandhana, Pakistan’s Nida Dar, New Zealand’s Sophie Devine and Australia’s Tahlia McGrath.

    The Women’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year Award will go to either India’s Renuka Singh or Yastika Bhatia, Australia’s Darcie Brown or England’s Alice Capsey.