UWI Society of Petroleum Engineers at St Augustine wins international award

    (Photo credit: UWI) The UWI SPE Student Chapter officers 2019/20: (From Left ) Secretary Danielle Pacheco, President Ahilia Gajadhar, Treasurer Rishma Persad, Vice President Celine Gooljar, Faculty Advisor Professor Raffie Hosein, Communications Chairperson Aliyah Ali, Membership Chairperson Navin Ragoo, and Programme Chairperson Lauren Rodrigues. Not included in the photo is Social Activities Chairperson Deana-Marie Burkett

    The UWI Society of Petroleum Engineers Student Chapter at the St Augustine campus has won its first ever Presidential Award from the Society of Petroleum Engineers International.

    According to the university, the award is the organization’s highest honour and recognising the top 5 per cent of SPEI student chapters around the world.

    It is awarded to chapters with exceptional programmes in industry engagement, operations and planning, community involvement, professional development, and innovation.

    The UWI SPE chapter is made up of students with a focus or interest in petroleum engineering.