Star Team secures vast majority of votes in UNC Internal Elections


    The Star Team led by Kamla Persad-Bissessar secured over 95% of the votes in the UNC’s Internal Election, held yesterday.

    According to a statement from the party’s PRO, Dr. Kirk Meighoo, preliminary figures show approximately 13,000 people casting votes, despite the inclement weather and flooding in parts of the country.

    The results saw Mrs Persad-Bissessar retaining the post of Political Leader, with Dr. Roodal Moonilal, David Lee and Jearlean John as Deputy Leaders, Dave Tancoo as Chairman and Khadijah Ameen as Vice-Chairman.

    National Executive members are:

    • Political Leader: Kamla Persad-Bissessar
    • Chairman: Dave Tancoo
    • Deputy Political Leaders: Dr Roodal Moonilal, David Lee, Jearlean John
    • Vice-Chairman: Khadijah Ameen
    • Education Officer: Vandana Mohit
    • Research Officer: Saddam Hosein
    • Elections Officer: Don Sylvester
    • Party Organiser: Ravi Ratiram
    • Treasurer: Neil Gosine
    • Tobago Regional Co-ordinator: Taharqa Obika
    • Policy and Strategy Co-ordinator: Sean Sobers
    • International Relations Officer: Wilfred Morris
    • South Co-ordinator: Shanti Boodram
    • Central Co-ordinator: Barry Padarath
    • Northwest Co-ordinator: Eli Zakour
    • Northeast Co-ordinator: Anil Roberts

    Dr. Meighoo says the results show that the UNC is united and strong, as he called for work to begin on defeating the PNM in the next local and general elections.

    He says constituency elections are the next internal elections for the UNC, as the party continues to prepare for government.

    Speaking last night, Mrs Persad-Bissessar thanked the membership for their support in the election.

    Also, without calling names, she accused and criticized “opponents and detractors” for allegedly attempting to belittle the party’s membership.