Justice C. Dennis Morrison resigns from CoE, replacement announced

    Justice C. Dennis Morrison.

    Justice C. Dennis Morrison, OJ CD QC has resigned from the Commission of Enquiry appointed to look into the deaths of four divers earlier this year.

    During today’s Post-Cabinet news conference, Energy Minister Stuart Young said Justice Morrison resigned due to “personal reasons”.

    A replacement was also announced, having been approved by the Cabinet this afternoon.

    The new Chairman of the CoE will be Jerome Lynch, Q.C.

    Mr. Young also assured that the Commission’s work will not be set back by this latest change.

    The Commission also consists of subsea specialist Gregory Wilson, with Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj serving as Lead Counsel.

    Fyzal Kurban, Kazim Ali Jr, Rishi Nagassar and Yusuf Henry died after being sucked into a pipeline while conducting maintenance work at a Paria facility back in February.