Honorary degrees for former Central Bank Governor, Mathematician, Music Producer


    Former Central Bank Governor Ewart Williams is among 10 persons to receive honorary degrees during UWI’s 2019 graduation ceremonies.

    The honourees are being recognised for their significant contributions to the region and the wider world in their respective fields.

    The St Augustine Campus will confer degrees on:

    • Mr. Ewart Williams of Trinidad and Tobago for Leadership and his service to the region – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
    • Mr. Pelham Goddard of Trinidad and Tobago for his work in music production and entertainment – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
    • Professor Emeritus Harold Ramkissoon of Trinidad and Tobago for his work as a Mathematician and his contribution to the development of Science and Technology in the Caribbean and beyond – Doctor of Science (DSc)

    The other honourees are as follows:

    Cave Hill Campus

    • Ms. Maxine Williams of Trinidad and Tobago for Leadership – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
    • Mr. Stedson ‘Red Plastic Bag’ Wiltshire of Barbados for his work as an Entertainer – Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
    • Mr. Alan Emtage of Barbados for Scientific Invention – Doctor of Science (DSc)

    Mona Campus

    • Mr. Patrick A. A. Hylton of Jamaica for his contribution the field of Finance – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
    • Mrs. Thalia Lyn of Jamaica for Entrepreneurship – Doctor of Laws (LLD)
    • Reverend Dr. Burchell Taylor of Jamaica for Theology – Doctor of Laws (LLD)

    Open Campus

    • Sir S. W. Tapley Seaton of Saint Kitts and Nevis for Public Service – Doctor of Laws (LLD)

    The Open Campus will launch UWI’s 2019 graduation ceremonies on October 12th in Antigua and Barbuda followed by Cave Hill Campus on October 1st, the St. Augustine Campus from October 24th–26th, and the Mona Campus on November 1st–2nd.