Committee appointed to review monuments


    Government has agreed to the appointment of a committee to review and report on the placement of statues, monuments and other historical signage and recognition in T&T.

    According to a media release by the Office of the Prime Minister, the committee will be chaired by Professor Bridget Brereton.

    Other members are Dr Eastlyn Kate McKenzie, Ms Zaida Rajnauth, Chief Ricardo Bharath-Hernandez and Mr Kobe Sandy.

    Government says it recognises the need for issues associated with these monuments to be studied and for consideration to be given to determining what decisions should be taken.

    It has requested that this Committee report back to Cabinet by December 31st, 2022.