Committee appointed to evaluate bids for Pointe-a-Pierre refinery


    A ten-member committee has been appointed to evaluate bids for the sale or lease of the oil refinery in Pointe-a-Pierre.

    According to Trinidad Petroleum Holdings Limited, the Guaracara Evaluation Committee, chaired by Finance Ministry Permanent Secretary Vishnu Dhanpaul, will make a recommendation to Government on the preferred bidder.

    There was no mention of any deadline for this decision.

    Trinidad Petroleum says the committee is fully responsibly for selecting a new operator for the refinery that was shutdown last year due to claims of unprofitability.

    It says TPHL will be protected from any liability that may stem from the decisions or actions of the committee.

    Also on the committee are Anthony Chan Tack, Claire Gomez-Miller, Joseph Remy, Ian Welsh, Selwyn Lashley, Dale McLeod, Sandra Fraser, Sahid Hosein and Terrance Bharath.