CARICOM Heads agree to Regional Travel Bubble


    Regional Heads of Government have agreed to institute a Travel Bubble among CARICOM members from this Friday, once the country meets the agreed criteria.

    The Bubble is guided by a comprehensive CARPHA report, which provides recommendations on how it would operate.

    Countries would be categorized ranging from those with no cases to those which had low, medium, high and very high risk with respect to the rate of positive cases over a 14-day period.

    Only those countries with no cases and those in the low-risk category would be allowed to participate in the Bubble.

    It was agreed that initially, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines will be in the Bubble as they presently meet the criteria.

    Travellers from countries within the Bubble would be allowed entry without being subjected to PCR testing prior to arrival and would also not have to undergo quarantine restrictions.

    Travellers may however be subjected to screening on arrival.