Anil Roberts set to return to Parliament as UNC announces new senators


    Anil Roberts is set to return to the Senate while unsuccessful General Election candidate David Nahkid has also been selected for a parliamentary stint by the Opposition Leader.

    An email from the Office of the Opposition Leader today named the six senators the President has been advised to appoint.

    Mr Roberts returns six years after resigning as Sport Minister following audit findings of corruption in the Life Sport programme.

    Returning to the lower house are long-time member Wade Mark and former temporary opposition senators Jearlean John and Damian Lyder.

    The new faces are:

    • Ms Jayanti Lutchmedial – an attorney at law who served as special advisor to the Attorney General during the UNC’s stint as government.
    • David Nahkid – contested the Tunapuna seat for the UNC in the 2020 General Elections but lost to Esmond Forde.