Smith, Warner named in Australia’s World Cup squad

    (Photo via ICC)

    Steven Smith and David Warner will make their international returns at the World Cup after both were named in Australia’s 15 man squad.

    The two also return to the CA central contract list for 2019-2020.

    They could play their first international since the scandal on June 1st against Afghanistan, when Australia start the defence of their World Cup title.

    Before that, there is a training camp in Brisbane with three one-day games against New Zealand – not full internationals – followed by warm-up matches in England.

    Mitchell Starc has been included in the World Cup squad among a group of five fast bowlers despite not having played in Australia’s last 13 ODIs.

    Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson (who is also returning from a shoulder dislocation), Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff are the other pacers.

    However there was no room for Josh Hazlewood, who has been sidelined with a back injury since January.

    According to Chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns, Starc and Richardson had been selected subject to fitness.

    Squads can be changed until May 23rd without ICC permission.