India names World Cup squad

    (Photo Credit: PTI)

    Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu have been left out of India’s squad for the upcoming World Cup.

    The team led by Virat Kohli was announced this morning, with KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar and Ravindra Jadeja making the final 15.

    While most of the slots had been firmed up well beforehand, there were question marks around the No. 4 position in the batting order.

    Rayudu and Pant were among the contenders for the spot, but the selectors instead placed their faith in Karthik, with Rahul around as a reserve opening batsman and another option for No. 4.

    There are only three specialist pacers in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, though Vijay Shankar and Hardik Pandya do provide all-round seam-bowling options.

    The full squad is: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

    Teams can make changes to their squads, without needing permission from the ICC’s technical committee, till May 23rd.