The Latest News

Funeral arrangements announced for the late Professor George Maxwell Richards

Funeral arrangements announced for the late Professor George Maxwell Richards

Limited public invitations will be available for the funeral of former President Professor George Maxwell Richards.

Professor Richards will be laid to rest on Wednesday January 17th, after a State Funeral at NAPA from 10:00 am.

It says Government continues to work with Professor Richards’ family on the funeral arrangements and further details will be disclosed in a subsequent statement.

Public invitations for the funeral ceremony will be distributed on a first come, first serve basis, and will be available at NAPA Box Office on Tuesday January 16th, 2018.

The time will be subsequently disclosed.

On Monday January 15, 2018 , the body of the late President will lie in State at the Parliament with public viewing from 11:00 am to 5:45 pm.

On Tuesday January 16, 2018, the body will be escorted through the St. Augustine Campus of The University of the West Indies from 7:45 am en route to NAPA where it will lie in State from 10:00 am to 5:45 pm.

The viewing and funeral will be closed casket.

There will also be several Books of Condolence available for public signing.

One will be open at the Parliament on:

• Monday January 15, 2018 from 11am to 5:54 pm
• Tuesday January 16 to Friday January 19, 2018 from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.

A book of condolence will also be opened at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) on:

• Tuesday January 16, 2018 from 10:00 am to 5:45 pm
• Thursday January 18, 2018 from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
• Friday January 19, 2018 from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

The condolence book however will not be available for signature at NAPA on Wednesday January 17th, 2018.

Condolence books will also be available for signature by members of the public at the Assembly Chamber, Tobago House of Assembly and at the following venues in Trinidad from Monday January 15, 2018 to Friday January, 19 2018 from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm:

• Port of Spain City Corporation
• San Fernando City Corporation
• Chaguanas Borough Corporation
• Arima Borough Corporation
• Point Fortin Borough Corporation
• Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo Regional Corporation
• Diego Martin Regional Corporation
• Penal-Debe Regional Corporation
• Princes Town Regional Corporation
• Rio Claro-Mayaro Regional Corporation
• Siparia Regional Corporation




January 12th, 2018

No comments

Comments are closed.